Marching In!
Almost
2 weeks since my last blog - life is so chaotic sometimes! My #whole30 journey while
not a complete FAIL, definitely hit a few roadblocks. On the 11th
day I had a couple cocktails (Nicaraguan rum & coke zero) with a friend
after the ball game got rained out. However the next day, which was a Sunday, rather
than just chalk up a total failure, I just continued on and still treated it as
Day 12. That is not what the program plan suggests, but seemed the best option
for me. It seems to me that to just keep trekking on is better than nothing. By
the 15th day last week, I was really feeling pretty good, my clothes
getting ridiculous baggy, so that was a good sign. However, with a rough week
emotionally on the work and personal front, and crappy weather, by Saturday
which was Day 18—I had only got in two decent workouts during the week and a
lot of long hours with various projects, I was feeling depressed and cranky so
I did do some pre-game tailgating Saturday---still far from getting drunk or
anything, but 3 adult-drinks are definitely not on the program. Nor were the
onion rings I had at dinner, but overall didn’t really experience any
ill-effects from that. I also managed to say NO to birthday cake of a friend--fully aware was already having alcohol--and enjoying it! :-)
So
here I am at Day 21*—still sleeping well, the heartburn and upset stomachs are
virtually gone. With all the other life stressors, workouts been totally
slacking though—fearful my 5K this weekend will not be much faster than the
last one, but again, just getting it done is half the battle for me right now.
Just keep truckin’ right?
The
day21* equals: taken with a grain of salt since there was actual “cheating” but
I still feel like moving forward better than going to square one since I am
still feeling good effects. Some food choices I know am not likely to revisit
in the future, but I can embrace others. I miss milk—it will make a re-appearance
in my life. I can live without most
processed foods though with barely an afterthought. Three weeks has taught me that I can mostly control
emotional eating, that I can feel the positive side effects of not having so
much crap in my system, and that people will support me, no matter what!
Yes, keep on trucking! I will see you at Doak this weekend and the 5K!
ReplyDeleteShannon - thank you for sharing your journey with us. I can't speak to the strictness of the Whole30 because I haven't done it but I am proud of you for your determination to keep trying! I struggle so much with the "non hungry" eating--specifically in the afternoon around 3 p.m. when I am just tired and don't have the luxury of the 10 minute nap that would clear everything up. Keep on truckin' - enjoy the 5K!!!!
ReplyDelete